The Buzz

HomeBlanchard River BuzzArea All-League Roundup: Allen East sweeps top NWC softball honors

Area All-League Roundup: Allen East sweeps top NWC softball honors

Allen East swept the top honors as the Northwest Conference released its all-conference softball selections.
Allen East senior Ariana Schmiedebusch was named NWC Player of the Year.
She finished the season with a record of 16-3. In 121 innings, she struck out 173 batters and compiled an ERA of 2.26.
Allen East coach Bill Mattevi was the NWC Coach of Year after leading the Mustangs to just their second league softball title.
Columbus Grove senior Grace Schroeder and junior Teyah Sautter were also first-team selections along with Bluffton sophomore Averey Rumer.
Columbus Grove’s Lauren Birkemeier and Danielle Bame, Bluffton’s Katie Prater and Ada’s Sydney Newland made the all-NWC second team.
Area honorable mention selections included Bluffton’s Abbie Parkins and Jazmynn Wilson, Ada’s Olivia Alexander and Kaiti Newland and Columbus Grove’s Jenny Ellerbrock.

ALLEN EAST — Ariana Schmiedebusch, sr.; Alishia Miller, jr.; Lakin Basham, soph. SPENCERVILLE — Julie Mulholland, jr.; Kara May, jr.; CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Sydney Bowen, sr. COLUMBUS GROVE — Teyah Sautter, jr.; Grace Schroeder, sr. BLUFFTON — Averey Rumer, soph. PAULDING — Haylee Dominique, soph.
LINCOLNVIEW — Macala Ashbaugh, sr.; Lakin Brant, soph. COLUMBUS GROVE — Lauren Birkemeier, jr.; Danielle Bame, soph. PAULDING — Audrey Manz, jr. CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Kristen Etzler, sr.; Cora Millay, sr. DELPHOS JEFFERSON — Kaylin Hartsock, sr. ADA — Sydney Newland, jr. BLUFFTON — Katie Prater, soph.
SPENCERVILLE — Bailey Swartz, jr.; Jenna Henline, jr.; Kendra Johnston, jr. PAULDING — Bailey Pieper, sr.; Daleigh Davis, sr. ALLEN EAST — Riley Newland, jr.; Chloe Lawrence, jr.; Alyssa Young, sr.; Summer McCloskey, soph.; Olivia Lawrence, soph. BLUFFTON — Abbie Parkins, sr.; Jazmynn Wilson, sr.; Libby Schaadt, fr. ADA — Olivia Alexander, jr.; Kaiti Newland, jr. LINCOLNVIEW — Alena Looser, jr.; Morgan Miller, soph. DELPHOS JEFFERSON — Michelle Rode, soph. COLUMBUS GROVE — Jenny Ellerbrock, sr. CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Codi Miller, soph.

All-NWC baseball
Just one area player earned a spot on the first team as the Northwest Conference released its all-league baseball selections for the 2017 season.
Columbus Grove senior Reid Stechschulte was the only first teamer from the area. He helped the Bulldogs fashion a 10-8 overall record that included a 4-4 mark and tie for fifth place in the Northwest Conference.
Bluffton senior Matt Bowden and junior Dakota Bricker were second-team honorees as was Columbus Grove sophomore Nick Woods.
Spencerville pitcher/infielder Jake Meyer was a near unanimous choice as the NWC Player of the Year. Meyer compiled a 2-1 conference record with an era of 0.79 in conference play. Offensively, Meyer hit .558 and stole 15 bases in NWC games.
Crestview coach Jim Wharton was named NWC Coach of the Year.

SPENCERVILLE — Jake Meyer, sr.; Brady Recker, sr. COLUMBUS GROVE — Reid Stechschulte, sr. CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Caden Hurless, jr; Spencer Rolsten, sr. LINCOLNVIEW — Chayten Overholt, jr. DELPHOS JEFFERSON — Jace Stockwell, sr.; Brandan Herron, sr. PAULDING — James Mourey, sr. ALLEN EAST — Brent Wilson, sr.
SPENCERVILLE — Thad Ringwald, sr.; Brady Nolan, jr. BLUFFTON — Dakota Bricker, jr.; Matt Bowden, sr. PAULDING — Lupe Martinez, sr. COLUMBUS GROVE — Nick Woods, soph. CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Jacob Painter, sr. LINCOLNVIEW — Gavin Carter, fr.; Jayden Youtsey, soph. DELPHOS JEFFERSON — Tyler Shrider, jr.
ALLEN EAST — Reid Spencer, jr.; Ryan Snyder, jr. SPENCERVILLE — Damon Blair, sr. ADA — Seth Evans, sr.; Aaron Everhart, jr. DELPHOS JEFFERSON — Brett Mahlie, sr. PAULDING — Cameron Doster, sr. CONVOY CRESTVIEW — Brant Richardson, soph.; Zechariah Simerman, sr.; Dylan Hicks, jr. LINCOLNVIEW — Sam Myers, soph. COLUMBUS GROVE — Ben Ramirez, sr. `

All-WBL softball
Ottawa-Glandorf’s Leanna Zynda made the second-team list as the Western Buckeye League announced its all-conference softball selections.
Wapakoneta won the league’s top honors. The Redskins’ Blasia Moyler was named the WBL Player of the Year while Bill Sammons won the WBL Coach of the Year award.
The Titans’ Rachel Warnecke was third team selection while Katelyn Yoder made the honorable mention list.

WAPAKONETA — Megan Fisher, Blasia Moyler, Savanna Oen. LIMA SHAWNEE — Chloe Wohlgamuth. DEFIANCE — Caroline Turner, Morgan Porter. LIMA BATH — Abby Cosart, Annika Heminger. KENTON — Hanna Legge. CELINA — Maddie Luebke.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Blasia Molyer, Wapakoneta.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Bill Sammons, Wapakoneta.
LIMA BATH — Alex Roob. KENTON — Jenna Clum, Sydney Bolling. DEFIANCE — Emily Poling. ELIDA — Katelynn Sumption. LIMA SHAWNEE —-Molly Bollinger. ST. MARYS MEMORIAL — Madi Howell. WAPAKONETA — Emma Miller. OTTAWA-GLANDORF — Leanna Zynda.
ELIDA — Lauren Kesler. KENTON — Molly Pees. DEFIANCE — Zariah Scott. VAN WERT — Allison Kennedy. WAPAKONETA — Grace Jolly. CELINA — Brooke Steinbrunner. LIMA SHAWNEE — Aurora Knight. OTTAWA-GLANDORF — Rachel Warnecke. LIMA BATH — Britlynn Faulder. VAN WERT — Kateri Steinenecker.
LIMA BATH — Riley Iiames. CELINA — Mackenzie Shaffer. DEFIANCE — Abbey Zedaker. ELIDA — Maddie Murphy. KENTON — Olivia Purtee. OTTAWA-GLANDORF — Katelyn Yoder. ST. MARYS MEMORIAL — Lexi Fowler. LIMA SHAWNEE — Raegan Wheeler. VAN WERT — Katie Coplin. WAPAKONETA — Lexi Jacobs.